top of page

My Comfort Playlist


I once read somewhere, “Your favourite songs are your favourite because you have

a memory attached to it.” And I couldn’t agree more! Sometimes, when you are

feeling sad or lonely or demotivated, you just want something to pull you back. A

comfort playlist can be that something. There are some songs which changed the

way I looked at a particular situation, some songs which brought back forgotten

memories and some which just paused the world around me and let me escape for

sometime. This is my comfort playlist.


1. Strawberries and Cigarettes, Troye Sivan

I like how this song is fairly sad but still manages to give me a boost of serotonin. It

takes me back to a memory where I sat in my room in cold winter, the year just

about to end, drinking hot chocolate and scrolling through Pinterest. It reminds me

that they are good moments even on bad days and those are the ones which are

worth remembering. This song has taught me that even though people leave, the

memories you had with them are always yours to keep.


2. Not All Who Wander Are Lost, Lana Del Rey

This song plays and slows everything down; its silence silencing every corner of

my mind. The whispered lyrics bring me comfort in a way of making me believe I

am going right the way. Sometimes, you need that assurance and I get it from this

song. When Lana sings the lyrics, “Not all those who wander are lost, it’s just

wanderlust.” I get the reflection that it’s fine being sad or being lost or have a fuzzy

brain for sometime. It’s okay finding yourself in weird, twisted situations because they make up stories for the future. It’s all right to sometimes not get up because when you finally do, you would know what you are capable of.


3. The Good Side, Troye Sivan

When I first heard this song, I felt like it was written for me. Its got a majestical

strumming to it which takes me to a summer day where I am lying down on plain lush green grass, staring at the bright blue sky in front of me. It plays passed away days in front of me in a flash. Somehow, this song made me realise a lot of things. It taught me that I am supposed to forgive others not for them, but for myself. It taught me things about someone I once loved and how it was the right thing for it to end. This song leaves me feeling so light and peaceful.


4. I Want To Write You A Song, One Direction

This is not for anyone, but for a small part inside me. I do want to write her song,

telling her how proud I am of her. I want to tell her that she deserves love and that she will always deserve kindness. I want her to know that I will take care of her forever and never let her fall down like I have in the past. I want her to believe that she is beautiful, even on the darkest of her days and I want her to never doubt herself because of someone. We all deserve love but that love should first come from us.


5. Two Ghosts, Harry Styles

I just assumed that people are meant to stay in your lives forever, but when they didn’t, I thought something entirely had gone wrong. But this song brings me to the realisation that not all people that come in your life are meant to stay forever. Some are only there to help you grow and then they leave which is completely fine.

It’s fine for people to change and it’s fine for them to grow up as different people.

It’s alright if you and them are “two ghosts standing in front of each other”, you will always have the known best versions of each other, kept safe.


6. Blue banisters, Lana Del Rey

For me, this song is about broken promises. People can promise you a thousand things but only a few of them keep the promise. I realised its about moving on from those forgotten promises. Its about healing and finding happiness in yourself. Notice the small things around you, take silly pictures, laugh about stupid things, get ready to go nowhere and definitely try that thing you have been wanting to.

7. Are You Bored Yet?, Wallows (feat. Clairo)

I love Wallows! And their music always makes me soo happy. I heard this song the

first time when I was just randomly switching music videos at 2 am. Once this played, I could not play anything else. It has such a soft vibe to it; it takes my heart away. The reason I added this on my comfort playlist is because it only gives me good vibes. Also, it reminds me that people can have bad days and problems. But the smallest things can make you happy. Like watching the sunset? Like taking a walk? Just scrolling through Pinterest? Watching a movie?


- Prisha

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Psychological Impact of Social Media on our lives

Utilization of social media has increased during the past fifteen years. In 2005, only five percent of adults in the United States reported using a social media site; this percentage has since increas

Leading with Kindness

We feel better about ourselves and our life when we do acts of kindness. When was the last time you treated someone with kindness and goodness? I bet it made you feel good about yourself. Every minute

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page