top of page

Productivity over Procrastination

We all have spent hours procrastinating on our phone watching reels, web series, youtube videos, etc. We all have leaned into procrastination ever since the pandemic started, killing our time sitting on our sofa while simply ignoring our assignments and tasks on hand. I have always struggled to follow my routines. I would do it for two days and by the third day I lost all my motivation to follow.

This month's theme really made me try and test different ways and patterns through which I could add productivity in my routine.

Here are something things that worked for me:-

Make it aesthetically appealing: We tend to go on social media and interact with content which is aesthetically appealing to us. Recently we all have come across the niche “being that girl/boy” which typically means the person who has their life put together. When I used to watch such videos I would want to participate in it but when it actually came to doing it I had no motivation. But in the past two weeks, I tried to make everything I wanted to do aesthetic so that it would call me to work on it and it actually worked. If you want to make yourself a smoothie then put on some music, enjoy the process and make it look like it's out of your pinterest homepage.

Tip- We procrastinate because it's our comfort. We enjoy doing it, so make productive things enjoyable by adding your own favourite little favourite things to the background.

Start Small: Whenever we decide that we want to have a productive day, we aim big for things like I am going to wake up at 6 AM, I will exercise, I will meditate and the list goes on. We tend to get over enthusiastic and ignore the practicality of it all and that's how we end falling into the trap of procrastination, we overload ourselves with tasks. I have come to the conclusion that starting small and then building on to it is the best way as our minds will slowly adapt to our new ways. For example, if you want to wake up early, don’t straight away start at 6 AM, if you usually wake up at ten then start waking up at 8:30 AM. If you want to start working out, start doing it for 7minutes everyday and then build upon it.

Tip- Starting small helps to tame the procrastinator inside of you. Instead of lining your to do list with tasks, only sign yourself three tasks each day.

Productivity isn’t just work- We often equate productivity with studying or doing things that are related to work, but it’s not just limited to that. Cleaning your room, listening to a podcast, reading a book, journaling, organising, cooking, cleaning the dishes, taking a walk , creating a vision board and doing art is also productive. So the next time your mind goes “Let’s open instagram and scroll instead of working on boring assignments” you could swap your phone with these activities.

Surround yourself with motivation-

Looking at productive things everyday can motivate you. I watch a lifestyle vlog before going to sleep so that I feel motivated to wake up the next morning and follow my routine. Looking at Pinterest instead of checking Instagram and WhatsApp first thing in the morning has really helped me feel motivated.


Some lifestyle vlogs recommendations:

Alterations

Productive day in my life vlog (work-life balance)


Cutting out social media-

Now, this is the hardest task to achieve. I still struggle with putting down my phone once I grab it, but as I mentioned above, starting small really helps. I recommend shifting two hours from your screen time to reading, drawing or whatever that gives you happiness, it could be as simple as watching the clouds.


Don’t make it monotonous-

Keeping things exciting will make you want to participate every day, change your set of

activities daily to keep yourself going because doing the same thing every day can make you lose interest and get off the road.


Being productive is not an easy task, I struggled a lot in the beginning but with the

right ways and motivation, you really can do it and don’t forget to take breaks.

Alteration in lifestyle is painful because it centres us on growth but it's not impossible.


- Inayat Sharma


232 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Psychological Impact of Social Media on our lives

Utilization of social media has increased during the past fifteen years. In 2005, only five percent of adults in the United States reported using a social media site; this percentage has since increas

Leading with Kindness

We feel better about ourselves and our life when we do acts of kindness. When was the last time you treated someone with kindness and goodness? I bet it made you feel good about yourself. Every minute

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page